His Blood Instead of Ours

So then, whoever eats the bread or drinks the cup of the Lord in an unworthy manner will be guilty of sinning against the body and blood of the Lord. (28) Everyone ought to examine themselves before they eat of the bread and drink from the cup.”

1 Corinthians 11:27-28

 

As a child, before I understood what communion was, I thought, “Ooh! A snack! Fabulous!” Then, I would watch the plate pass over my head to the next person. I would question myself with what I thought was the most vital question needing an answer right then and there. “Why does daddy get a snack and not me? I’m hungry too!”

Now, I see why they didn’t let me at the time. I hadn’t understood that it symbolized Jesus’ broken body and spilled blood. Thank goodness for my parents having their heads on straight. In 1 Corinthians 11, Paul was talking about the fact that communion, or as he calls it, the bread and cup of the Lord (I don’t think the word communion was actually ever used in the Bible), is in remembrance of Jesus (as He said in Luke 22).

When we drink from the cup of Christ, it is a time of prayer. It is a time to let God hear our thanks. It is a time to count our blessings. The blessings we have because of Jesus’ broken body. Sometimes,  I like to think of who would die for me. Then, I realize, who would die for me and everybody else? Would one person die and take the blame for every single person, dead, here, or to be? Like wow. I have been forgiven by Jesus Christ through His sacrifice for me. For His sacrifice for us.

Februrary 2015 126 d - Copy.JPG

Every time you see something needing help, simply beautiful, or just there, pray. Before you start a task, pray. Before you finish a task, pray. He can bring you some serious peace everyday. And, for those of us out there who had to suffer through biology in school (ugh), just have to say a few words. Have you actually thought of the fact that God planned all this? He created every little thing to work and carry on. Jesus died for all of that. All of that beautiful stuff in us that makes us work, is nothing in comparison to what fills us with true Life.

May His name be lifted higher!

Lots of love from your sister,

Sage

Raindrops

IMG_0731

 

Leave a Reply

